Skip Navigation

Bromery Lectures

 

See videos of past lectures >

 

Spring 2014 Fall 2013 Spring 2013

 

Lectures will be held at 12:00 PM every Thursday in Room 305 Olin Hall Auditorium
*Unless otherwise noted

Thursday, February 6, 2014

Dr. Lori Glaze - Goddard Space Flight
"A New Simulation Approach for Modeling Inflated Pahoehoe Lava Flows"

Thursday, February 13, 2014

Dr. Ralph Kahn - NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
"A Planetary Perspective on Aerosols And Climate"

Thursday, February 20, 2014

Dr. Ciaran Harman - JHU DOGEE
"Well if it isn't 'well-mixed', what is it?: A new theoretical framework for modeling unsteady transport through control volumes, and applications to long-term and high-frequency solute transport dynamics in catchments."

 

Thursday, February 27, 2014

Dr. Jonathan Petters - JHU Data Management Services
"From Clouds and Coding to Careers in Curation"

Thursday, March 6, 2014

Dr. Eric King - US AID
"The Trouble with Geodynamo Modeling"

Thursday, March 13, 2014

Dr. Sean McMahon - Smithsonian Environmental Research Center
"Tree Time: How Temporal Scale Frames Forest Response to Climate Change"

Thursday, March 20, 2014

Spring Break

**Special Bromery**Wednesday, March 26, 2014 @ 1:30 pm

Dr. Paul Santi - Colorado School of Mines
Debris Flows Follwoing Wildfires in the Western US: Initiation, Deposition, Prediction and Mitigation"

Thrusday, March 27, 2014

Dr. Carla Rosenfeld - National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution
"Contaminant Biogeochemistry: Trace Metal Dynamics at the Plant-Soil Interface"

Thursday, April 3, 2014

Dr. Adele Morrison - Princeton University
Title - TBA

Thursday, April 10, 2014

Dr. Ralph Kahn - NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
"A Planetary Perspective on Aerosols And Climate"

Thursday, April 17, 2014

Dr. Marcus Sarofim - U.S EPA
"Arctic Surface Temperature Response to Black Carbon: Analysis and Implications"

Thursday, April 24, 2014

Dr. Mary-Louise Timmermans - Yale University
Title - TBA

Thursday, May 1, 2014

Dr. Ryan Abernathey - Columbia University
"Baroclinic Equilibration with Topography"

Past Lectures

Fall 2013

**Monday, September 16, 2013

Dr. Moritz Heimpel - University of Alberta
"Zonal Flow and Vortices from Numerical Models of Deep Convection in Giant Planets"

Thursday, September 26, 2013

Dr. Elizabeth Cottrell - Mineral Science Department at the Smithsonian Institution
"Redox Heterogeneity in Mid-Ocean Ridge Basalts"

Thursday, October 3, 2013

Dr. Anne Thompson - Adjunct Professor, Penn State University Meteorology Department
"Strategic Ozonesonde Networks: What They Tell Us about Atmospheric Dynamics and Chemistry."

Thursday, October 10, 2013

Dr. Frank Brown - University of Utah
"A Half-Century of Geologic Work on Hominid Sites in the Turkana Basin"

Thursday, October 17, 2013

Dr. Tim Hall - NASA GISS
"Hurricane Landfall Risk Analysis"

Thursday, October 24, 2013

Dr. Kirsten Koehler - JHU School of Public Health
"A Holistic Approach to Exposure Assessment: Home, Work, and Commute Exposures to Particulate Air Pollution"

Thursday, October 31, 2013

Dr. Nitish Dogra - Centre for Climate Change and Environmental Health, International Institute of Health Management Research, New Delhi, India
"Climate Change and Disease Dynamics in India"

November, 7, 2013

Dr. Dusty Schroeder - University of Texas
"Characterizing the Subglacial Hydrology of Thwaites Galcier, West Antarctica Using Airborne Ice Penetrating Radar Sounding"

November 14, 2013

TBA - no talk

November 21, 2013

Dr. Laurence Yeung - UCLA
"The Geochemistry of Molecular Bonds: Atmospheric Chemistry and Photosyntesis Recorded in 02"

December 5, 2013

Dr. Linda Hinnov - Johns Hopkins University - E&PS
"A Glimpse into Earth's Oldest Ocean: Tidal Forcing in 3.7 Billion Year Old Sedimentary Rocks from Greenland"

December 19, 2013

Dr. Alex S. Gardner - Clark University
"Out of Equilibrium in a Warming World: Glacier Wastage and Sea Level Rise"

Spring 2013

Thursday, February 7, 2013

Dr. Matthieu Galvez - Carnegie Instituion
The Mobility of C Under Redox Gradients in Subduction Zones: From Nature to Experiments"

Thursday, February 14, 2013

Dr. Antoinette WinklerPrins - Michingan State University & NSF
"Anthropogenic Dark Earth Soils in the Amazon: Implications for the Region"

Thursday, February 21, 2013

Dr. Paul Block - Drexel University
"Tailoring Climate Information for Water Resources Management in Ethiopia"

Thursday, March 7, 2013

Dr. Edwin Kite - Caltech
"Mars and the Problem of Planetary Habitability"

Thursday, March 14, 2013

No Bromery

Thursday, March 21, 2013

Spring Break

Thursday, March 28, 2013

Dr. Britney Schmidt - University of Texas at Austin
"Getting Under Europa's Skin: Ice Dynamics and Habitability from Terrestrial Analogs"

Thursday, April 4, 2013

Dr. Caleb Fassett - Mount Holyoke College
"The Geological History of the Terrestrial Planets from their Impact Records"

Thursday, April 11, 2013

Dr. Kevin Lewis - Princeton University
"Martian Chronicles: Planetary Evolution and the Sedimentary Rock Record of Mars"

Thursday, April 18, 2013

Dr. Sarah Hörst - University of Colorado
"Understanding the Formation and Composition of Planetary Atmospheric Hazes"

Thursday, April 25, 2013

Dr. Marcelo Chamecki - The Pennsylvania State University
"The Flulid Mechanics of Plant Disease Epidemics"

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

 

 

 

Style DIV, please skip.

Style DIV, please skip.